Posted by: myautisticmuslimchild | March 17, 2011

Juicing for Autistic Kids (part 1)

If you are a parent or the caretaker of an autistic child, you have probably experienced how hard is to give them nutritious meals. Most autistic children are very picky eaters, and they limit themselves to eat just a few types of food.

This kind of behavior is often caused by medical or sensory issues. Although sometimes it is easier to pop a multivitamin in, to give our conscience a rest, it is certainly not enough.

Fruits and vegetables contain essential vitamins, minerals, and other beneficial components, like enzymes that will help the body to absorb all the nutrition.

Amin used to be a very picky eater. There were times when he would eat nothing but cheddar cheese, cut up into little rectangles, and Ritz crackers. Sadly, he is allergic to both. (I didn’t know it back than, since he didn’t have all his testing)

I used to eat all kinds of fruits and vegetables in front of him, hoping that he will show some interest just to try it, but never had too much luck with the so called “good example” theory. He eventually started to eat raspberries and cooked spinach though.

Once I found out what he is allergic to, I was able to eliminate most of those foods, and create a new food list. I am happy to tell everyone that he has a wide variety of meals that he is eating now, which includes fruits and vegetables.

Still, some of the vegetables and fruits that I would like him to eat are not happening as of yet. That is why I looked into an alternative, like juicing, so he may get more nutrition that might help him to heal his body.

Before juicing we tried all those healthy organic store bought juices, but once I started to read the ingredients, I realized they are not as healthy as they look. Lots of fruits and vegetables have very potent antioxidant, anti inflammatory, and detox components that are very important for everyone especially for autistic children.

For example, Glutathione is very important for cellular support, and you can find this in many different fruits and vegetables. Juicing is easy on the child, not as much as on the parents, (considering you have to get organic fruits and veggies, clean them, and then finally juice them, then cleaning everything again – It can get a bit messy),but in the long run it will be very beneficial for the whole family!

Responses

  1. I’ve had to look into dietary changes for my own health issues too and I’ve been warned against juicing, even though some people found it beneficial. The reason I’ve been warned against it, is because much of the nutritional benefit of (particularly organic) fruit and veg is in the skin and pulp, especially the fibre and you get less of that from just the juice. Juice alone can also send the blood sugar levels skyrocketing upwards unless there is vegetable fibre to cause the benefits to be more evenly distributed. In which case, smoothies are thought to often be more beneficial than juicing alone (obviously depending on what you put into it), because smoothies involve the use of the whole fruit to retain more of the fibre. My personal favourite is bananas and blueberry smoothies in which I put soya milk (although taste wise I prefer using cashew milk but it doesn’t suit my skin)- it’s a nice energy boost in the summer alhamdullilah.

    Perhaps juices have their place too in moderate amounts, but cos’ of the fibre issue, smoothies are often thought to be better and obviously the best sort of juice there is are the freshly squeezed ones cos’ they lose their nutritional value very quickly after being juiced so it’s way better than the shop bought variety. in the past, I’ve put purple grape juice into moulds to make ice lollies in the summer. It tastes like ribena or berry cordials, only a frozen version.

    I don’t know much about glutathione, other than that beetroot (what Americans just call ‘beets’) is a good source of it and is nutritionally excellent in other ways too- which is why it’s known as a ‘superfood’. I prefer to eat it raw in small amounts, mixed in salads, but other people like them cooked.

    I don’t want to sound discouraging about it either and hope you see good results from it- but at the same time couldn’t help but share my own concerns about what I’ve heard.

    Neelu

    • thank you Neelu for your comment. i like to see both end of the story. I agree with you to a degree. The benefit is with kids who doesn’t want to eat most veggies and fruits. I tried beets with my son in every possible way and I could never have him even put it in his mouth. Now he is happily drinking the beets leave and roots juice. I gave him small amount due to its high detox effect, and apparently it might even cause dizziness too. So sometimes a parent has to result to these kind of things, to get the child take what is actually good for them. That was the whole purpose of the introductory. Smoothies are great but unfortunately Amin has an issue with it, so it is a no go for him.

  2. Oh I can understand that. My brother’s kids are picky about food as well and he’s often having uphill battles in trying to get them to eat better things. Whilst I’m still an advocate of eating whole fruits etc, the bottom line is having fruit/veg juice is better than having no fruit/veg intake at all and it’s great that you’ve succeeded in getting Amin to try beets.

    Speaking of strong detoxing effects, me and my mum have fairly intense reactions to raw garlic, but it has so many medicinal properties that once the reaction subsides, I’ve seen so many benefits from it in terms of improved symptoms and stuff like that.

    Neelu

    • you know sometimes the reaction might be a dye off symptom , I wonder if that is what you are experiencing with garlic.
      Today i made them beets and beets leaves with pineapple juice, they gabled that up like no tomorrow. Their grandparent got them some smoothies from McDonald’s all kids favorite place and I was surprised when they just left it on the table and asked for some more beets /pineapple juice. I guess I am on the right track, we discretely poured the McDonald’s stuff out.(FYI I do not take my kids there to eat)

  3. Oh mashallah that’s great news! I find that with time, once people get a taste of real food and fresh ingredients, they start to notice the difference and then don’t like the synthetic stuff with artificial additives so much. For example, I found that when I really started to get into home baking, I don’t like most of the cakes and biscuits in the supermarket anymore- they don’t taste as fresh or nice. I think the same is true of other good fresh flavours. It’s a really great sign that your children are starting to like that.

    I agree I think the garlic does probably have a die off or ‘herx’ reaction when I take it. I also take an “allicinmax” pill everyday which contains stabilised allicin (the component in garlic that has the medicinal antibiotic, antiviral and antiparasitic effects). I have adjusted to taking one pill a day now but whenever I attempt to take more I get all sorts of joint pains, itchiness and things like that for a couple of days, after which I notice some real benefits alhamdullilah. My mum has tried raw garlic but can’t cope with the die off so she’s reluctant to try again.

    Neelu

  4. Very informative post. Thanks for taking the time to share your view with us.

  5. Hey there, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, amazing blog!

  6. Wonderful website you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get opinions from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks!

    • you can search on google or yahoo, there are groups. i will look up the links later and sen it to you. i am limited in accessing info right now

  7. This is really a excellent web site, could you be interested in working on an interview regarding just how you made it? If so e-mail me!

  8. Thank you so much for sharing. I am now interested in buying a juicer. I am certain it would benefit my whole family.

    • Hi Stephanie,

      It is truly a blessing for me and my family to have a good juicer.These new ones are so easy to clean , unlike the good old ones that took an hour to take apart and brush everything. Anyways, I use it twice daily and it takes less than 5 minutes to take it apart and clean . Easy convenient, and we received so much goodness from it. The easy way to get the kids have their daily dose of fruits and veggies. It takes a bit of a time to get them used to the taste, but apple, and pineapple does wonders to make it sweeter and tastier. Even adding parsley or cilantro to it the taste is good. I had my kids get used to it during summer in Florida( hot and sticky) and once they were done with their activities I just gave them a glass of juice. At that point they would drink just about anything and they got used to it quickly. Also, when you juice make sure some vegetables and fruits are not cold. certain enzyme does not activate if it is chilled, like watermelon and such.
      Good luck to you, I know you will enjoy it.

  9. It’s appropriate time to make a few plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy.

    I’ve learn this publish and if I may just I want to suggest you some fascinating things or tips. Perhaps you can write next articles regarding this article. I desire to read even more issues approximately it!

  10. Hello my family member! I wish to say that this post is awesome, nice written and come with almost all significant infos.
    I’d like to see more posts like this .


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

