Posted by: myautisticmuslimchild | June 10, 2012

Autistic Adults and Emergency Medicine: A Family’s Experience | Virtual-Strategy Magazine

My son had to go to the emergency room more than I like to think of it. Unfortunately via ambulance or helicopter. He is still considered a minor, and I can make medical decisions for him.

As parents with ASD kids, we have to think a little further to protect them when they grow up. This article shows how one family who were able to continue their loving  compassionate care beyond childhood of the their ASD son.

I do not like to think about all the legal aspects what I need to do for the future, but this article  opened my eyes that I can not just ignore the fact that Amin is growing up very fast. It would be negligence from my part not to gather all paperwork, so i can make decision for my son later in his life. In this day and age, I would certainly not want to have someone else making decision in Amin’s  overall care.

I encourage you all to read this article, and if you have a minor child just look into what needs to be done later on  so you may be prepared and continue to care for your special need child. Preparation is always the key to success in caring for an ASD loved one.

Autistic Adults and Emergency Medicine: A Family’s Experience | Virtual-Strategy Magazine.

Responses

  1. Today, I went to the beach with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and
    said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She
    placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and
    it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!
    LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to
    tell someone!

    • thank you for sharing. Funny story but I bet your daughter did not think that way. Hope she is ok. I had somewhat a similar experience with my son and the sand crab. Not funny while you are trying to figure out why are they screaming, looking back a few years later i laugh about it. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

