Posted by: myautisticmuslimchild | February 25, 2010

My Brother

My name is Safiyya. I am 7 years old and I am a third grade student. My brother is autistic, and I have learned how to react to many situations that sometimes come up between us. I know that sometimes kids can be confused about what to do with their brother or sister, and I hope that if you have questions that you will comment to this post so I can try to offer you some advice from a child’s angle.

In the meantime, I will be watching Scooby-Doo with my brother, sneaking chocolate from the “hidden place” and running around the house being a kid!

My brother may be Autistic, but he’s still my brother and I love him!

Responses

  1. Masha’Allah! I couldn’t leave without asking something though! Safiyya, what do you love the most about your brother?

    • Asalaam aleikum Brother Ibrahim

      There are too many things I like about my brother, but the most lovable characteristic Amin has is….. he is working very hard on all his assignment, and he always have a big smile on his face.

      Also, he helps me to find the hidden chocolates… together we are the best detectives.

  2. MashAllah Saffiyya you sound like a great mature big sister, your brother is lucky. InshAllah Allah bestows his blessings upon you and your brother and your family.

  3. Safiyya,
    I am so proud of you and your mom for starting this wonderful site. You always seemed so mature and compassionate for your age and I know what an incredible big sis you are- now you can share with everyone what a blessing you are for Amin. I just looked at the site for the first time and tears immediately came to my eyes when I saw your entry. I cannot wait to contribute and offer some of the things I have learned over the years that may help others. I miss you, Amin and your mom so much!
    Love Always,
    Ms. Pryce

  4. I am so proud of you. Amin could be considered the luckiest child in the world for having such a wonderful and lovable sister as you. Keep up the good work and continue to be such a great helper for your mom and brother. I am sure that when he grows up the entire family will be very proud of him. I love him too. It’s impossible not to love Amin.
    Ms. Gladys

    • Thank you Ms Gladys. I feel fortunate that I have a brother like Amin. I am able to help mommy to reach him, therefore we spend lots of time together as a family. I love him, he is just too cute, especially when he sneaks the candy out of my room.


Leave a Reply

Categories

