Posted by: myautisticmuslimchild | April 15, 2010

Health Care Reform

I received this article last night from autisable.com, and I wanted to share with you all. We have to tackle so many obstacles to get services for our autistic children.  Give us your feedback and experiences.

Victory for Autism in Health Care Reform


The new health care legislation will have a huge impact on Americans with autism and their families. Insurance companies will no longer be able to deny policies to autistic people when they (or their parents) apply for coverage. For people who have to buy insurance on the open market, this new provision will take them out of the insurance no-man’s-land in which they’ve been living. According to the new legislation, insurance companies must also cover behavioral therapies that have typically been excluded in the past. The particular therapy that we used with Martin for a year and a half, ABA or Applied Behavioral Analysis, is among the therapies that will now be covered.

I’ve been trying to figure out if our family’s biggest autism/insurance worry has been addressed by the legislation. My insurance plan, which I participate in through my employer, specifically excludes speech and occupational therapy prescribed for people with autism. As I’ve noted in earlier posts, if you have a stroke the company will provide speech therapy. If you break your hand and have trouble with handwriting, they’ll cover occupational therapy. If you need those things because you’re autistic, you are out of luck. That’s the policy.
Some states have made this practice of exclusion illegal. I’m curious if the new legislation has taken care of it at the federal level so that the battle won’t have to happen in 50 different places. But I can’t find out. My Google searching took me only to a blogpost that made me sadder than I’ve felt for awhile. I’ll paraphrase the post:
Why should parents of non-autistic children have to pay for expenses that ought to paid by autistic children’s parents? We pay enough for insurance already. We struggle to make ends meet already. And autistic kids’ parents want more of our money even though our kids are fine and their kid is a problem?
I’ll stop paraphrasing there, but let me assure you that the blogger – like so many cyber sages – only got meaner as the post continued. I sometimes forget that a lot of people simply never give a crap about an issue until it affects them. So no wonder passing legislation that moves us toward universal coverage has been so contested. If there are citizens with no mercy for autistic children, how will we ever be a country that offers support and care to people that lack autistic kids’ cuteness and innocence? There are a lot of people in our world who aren’t very cute and who contribute in some ways to their own suffering; but they need love and support nonetheless. Maybe I feel this way because I study prisons. And there is no better place than our prisons for seeing what results from large-scale neglect, shame, deprivation, and abuse.
We get the kind of society we are willing to pay for. If we don’t want to help out autistic kids, we’ll have a lot of stressed out families and lots of children who will be locked in their own worlds even though we have the resources to help them get out. But on the upside, there would be freedom ringing.


Responses

  1. […] Insurance companies will no longer be able to deny policies to autistic people when they (or …Continue Cancel […]

  2. Hi

  3. In my life I watched the thousands, nay – tens of thousands of different websites. Today I have no doubt that it is difficult to get a really good blog. Usually this type of sites dealing with children who rely on free scripts, free servers, and write to all of this do not know what – even the same can not say why these blogs are. Therefore, with a large dose of skepticism is always approached for this kind of web sites and always willing to write on any kind of forums about their fears. This time, however, want to share a slightly different observation. In the header I put a link to a site that few days ago, particularly caught my attention. Why? This issue of the same content, which in such cases often doubt. I do not know who started this blog est, stretchers, however, intended to write an email to the admin of this site. Blog content because they are not only well-communicated, are reliable and very unique. I always wondered whether people with great knowledge of playing in the blogging. After reading the same blog I am inclined to say yes. I can say even more – not just to have fun, but even on these blogs work. In this specific topic I was looking for information for many months. On the website of well-known e-publishing is really very little reliable information and in particular the information communicated well, I sat in the reading libraries also that the press can find some interesting things. Usually it ended with disappointment and a waste of time. Then suddenly a few days ago I found through a link on the pages of this blog and immediately fell in love with it. So many great knowledge in one place, even e found. So if anyone is interested in the subject (as in the address), I recommend reading a bit of publication of this page. It is really worth. Keep up the invite to your blog pozycjonowanie stron

  4. This looks like a website that I should visit more often. Well, atleast now I am a part of it now. I love the internet!
    ____________________________________________________
    Search Engine Optimization

  5. amazing stuff Thanks 😀

  6. Thanks for the add, I look forward to learning a lot here.

  7. It appears that you have placed a lot of effort into your article and I require more of these on the net these days. I sincerely got a kick out of your post. I don’t really have much to say in response, I only wanted to comment to reply wonderful work.


Leave a Reply

Categories

