Posted by: myautisticmuslimchild | June 22, 2010

Summer Picnic

As the school year ended, picnic opportunities popped up immediately. I was fortunate to attend a very nice gathering a week ago with families with autistic children, and their “typical” siblings.

It was so refreshing that the organizers considered all aspects that these kids and their families might need or want.

First of all, it started early, so it was nice and cool still, and ended  by the time the heat was too much to handle.

Secondly, the place that they picked for this event accommodated all needs of these kids. For example, we had a nice playground, a covered picnic area, a lake to splash around, and a splash pad for children who were intimidated by  the size of the lake.

It was very interesting to observe how other parents and the “typical”siblings interacted with the autistic children. For me , it was an eye opener in every way.

I saw one sibling who couldn’t care less about her sister, just playing with her phone most of the time, and when her mom asked her to participate, she looked like she was in real physical pain. The comment she made about her sister, “why does she have to ruin my life”, didn’t put her in a better light with us either.

At that point I looked at my daughter who was trying to make my son drink water since it started to get hot, so he would not get dehydrated. I immediately thanked Allah (God) for blessing me and Amin with a wonderful girl with such a big, sincere heart. God willing, she will always be kind to her brother. I am not here to judge anyone, it is just fascinating to see other reactions to certain situations.

Also, it was such a beautiful sight to see how a single father cared for his autistic daughter, he attended to all her needs in an amazingly loving and gentle way. He is certainly a good example to all.

Then we observed another very loving father who just reached the point where he couldn’t  deal with his son’s misbehavior anymore. That is when some of the organizers took over his son’s care for a while.

Another young man, about 18 years old, was playing with his brother in a loving and very caring, supportive way. At first he gave me an impression that he was one of the organizers, but later on I found out that he is just one of the wonderful siblings to a very lucky autistic boy. I asked his mother how did she raise him to be so kind and patient with his brother. Her surprising answer gave me a big laugh.

She told me that when they got the diagnosis, that her husband walked out on them the same day, so she sat all her kids down and told the two typical brothers that their little brother was diagnosed with autism. When she finished the talk with them, she told the typical brothers…” if you disrespect him, hurt him physically or emotionally I will kick your @#!”. She said they have always been very good with their autistic brother thank God. I guess people have different approaches, whatever works should be applied, that is my policy.

It was  a learning experience for all of us, as it is every time we have a gathering like this.

Also, this event gave many of us hope, seeing some of the kids who improved so much that they don’t even show any signs of autism anymore. It is ample proof that emotional support combined with proper therapy from trained and loving therapists, as well as prayer and a “never-say-die” attitude achieves miraculous results.  All praise to God!

Responses

  1. Please tell me that youre heading to keep this up! Its so superior and so important. I cant wait to read additional from you. I just feel like you know so very much and know how to make people listen to what you have to say. This weblog is just too cool to be missed. Good things, actually. Please, PLEASE keep it up!

  2. Took me time to read all the comments, but I truly enjoyed the article. It proved to be Extremely useful to me and I am sure to all the commenters right here It is always good when you can not only be informed, but also entertained I’m certain you had fun writing this article.

  3. What I wouldnt give to have a debate with you about this. You just say so many things that come from nowhere that Im pretty positive Id have a fair shot. Your weblog is great visually, I mean people wont be bored. But others who can see past the videos and the layout wont be so impressed together with your generic understanding of this topic.

  4. Please tell me that youre going to keep this up! Its so superior and so important. I cant wait to read a lot more from you. I just really feel like you know so very much and know how to make people listen to what you might have to say. This blog is just too cool to be missed. Fantastic stuff, really. Please, PLEASE keep it up!

  5. How is it that just anyone can publish a weblog and get as popular as this? Its not like youve said something incredibly impressive –more like youve painted a pretty picture through an issue that you know nothing about! I dont want to sound mean, here. But do you truly think that you can get away with adding some fairly pictures and not definitely say something?

  6. Ive been meaning to read this and just never acquired a chance. Its an issue that Im extremely interested in, I just started reading and Im glad I did. Youre a wonderful blogger, one of the very best that Ive seen. This blog undoubtedly has some information on topic that I just wasnt aware of. Thanks for bringing this stuff to light.

  7. I admire the valuable facts you offer in your articles or blog posts. I’ll bookmark your weblog and also have my youngsters verify up right here frequently. I am fairly certain they will discover a lot of new things here than anybody else!


Leave a Reply

Categories

