Posted by: myautisticmuslimchild | August 22, 2010

‘United States of Autism’


By Joseph Chaparro Special To The Times Union
Published: 12:00 a.m., Saturday, August 21, 2010
  • Trish Washburn, right, visits Sen. Roy McDonald at the Legislative Office Building in Albany. A film crew interviewed the Colonie resident and senator for a documentary called ?The United States of Autism.? (Cindy Schultz / Times Union)

  • Trish Washburn, right, visits Sen. Roy McDonald at the Legislative Office Building in Albany. A film crew interviewed the Colonie resident and senator for a documentary called ?The United States of Autism.? (Cindy Schultz / Times Union)

Trish Washburn sat beside her husband, Gary, in the center of her living room in Colonie, speaking as two cameras faced them. She recalled the day she went to the doctor’s office eight years ago to find out whether Buddy, her then 18-month-old son, had autism.

“So what do you think?” Trish asked the doctor, eager to hear good news.

“I believe he’s on the autism spectrum,” the doctor told her.

As Trish told her story before the cameras, tears rolled down her cheeks. She struggled to complete her sentence.

“It’s hard to talk about, because it brings feelings back about that time,” she said. “But I have to keep going.”

“I was angry at the world,” she said. “I blamed myself. I blamed God.”

Inside the living room, decorated with photos of her two children, a four-person film crew making a documentary, “United States of Autism,” listened attentively.

Richard Everts, one of the four, is the co-founder of the Tommy Foundation, a nonprofit that works with families affected by autism. He’s using a $50,000 grant from the Pepsi Refresh Project to pay for the documentary about families living with autism.

“It’s a story of hope that I want to tell my kids about one day,” said Everts. “I myself have an 11-year-old on the spectrum and want to answer his questions (about himself) through this film.”

When Washburn heard Everts was looking for families to be in the documentary, she e-mailed him.

The film crew had traveled more than 10,000 miles across the United States and had not been home in more than 40 days. The Washburns were the last family to be filmed.

They followed and filmed Buddy and his 7-year-old sister, C.J., for much of the day.

Washburn believes that C.J. might also have autism because she’s noticed compulsive-disorder-like symptoms, but the doctors have dismissed this, saying there isn’t enough evidence.

“Since one in four boys are diagnosed with autism, it’s harder for a girl to be diagnosed with it,” she said. “I believe in my heart that C.J. has autism.”

Buddy was diagnosed with Pervasive Developmental Disorder, which means he finds it difficult to socialize and communicate with others. His fascination with cars, however, is a huge icebreaker when talking to people, according to Washburn.

Filming began with Buddy and C.J. at the Easter Seals Camp Colonie, a camp that helps children with disabilities and disorders overcome challenges.

Buddy and C.J. played in the pretend Olympics games and races with 70 other children.

Buddy was aware the cameras were following him. But the boy with the pale green eyes and red Transformers T-shirt was happy to be part of the film.

“I think it’s cool, great, fun, exciting — all that combined,” Buddy said about the documentary.

Buddy played kickball with his friends at the camp while Trish and Gary Washburn met with state Sen. Roy McDonald for the film. He congratulated her for being a great advocate for children who have autism. McDonald has two grandchildren of his own on the autism spectrum.

Trish has long been an advocate for children with autism.

She serves on the Developmental Disabilities Planning Council under Gov. David Paterson and works with three other advocacy organizations. She has been fighting for autism-related benefits since she had Buddy.

The Washburns went through financial hardship when Gary lost his job after Buddy was born. It was then becoming harder to pay for Buddy’s autism services. Trish fought for the Autism Insurance Bill that passed in June, which provides financial assistance to the families of those with autism.

“Our financial problems aren’t over, but they’re better than they used to be,” Gary said.

Trish believes that it wasn’t coincidence her family was chosen to be part of the documentary. In her last words on camera, she shared her hopes that many families will learn more about autism after seeing hers on film.

“I just want people to learn from a new perspective,” she said. “I believe that Buddy and C.J. were given to me to make a difference.”

Responses

  1. […] See the rest here: 'United States of Autism' « My Autistic Muslim Child […]

  2. […] 'United States of Autism' « My Autistic Muslim Child […]

  3. ?United States of Autism?…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  4. Good asd info, keep writing please. We only started off studying aspergers and so , thank you.

  5. Nice share, thanks

  6. I like this post!

  7. Awesome website man, been searching for info like this.

  8. I totally agree with your opinion here. Makes a lot of sense haha. Sad that nobody knows what the heck is going on nowadays, people need to start opening their eyes.

    • you said it right, it seems like the right hand doesn’t know what the left had do, and sadly our children suffer from this disorganization and ignorance. Thank you for your comment

  9. Great site, awesome information. I see that you’re really trying to get your thoughts out to the world which is good! I’m going to drop by at times and check up on your page.. -thumbs up-

  10. Great website, a lot of useful information that can help me during living this life ~ Really grateful for a website like this haha, wonderful content and it was worth reading it ^_^

  11. Of course, what a fantastic website and revealing posts, I surely will bookmark your website.All the Best!

  12. Great site lol, agreed with your post to its full extent. You should consider making another site, with even more interesting of topics lol 😀

  13. Awesome site u have ghere

  14. Just bookmarked your site! I’ll be back to check out your future postings.. some times its a pain in the ass to read what blog owners wrote but this website is really user friendly ! . .

  15. amazing stuff thanx. you’ve gotten an ideal blog right here! would you prefer to make some invite posts on my blog? .

  16. you said it my friend. Don’t leave us hanging I want to hear more please. Thanks.. you said it my friend. Don’t leave us hanging I want to hear more please. Thanks. .

  17. Of course, what a magnificent website and illuminating posts, I definitely will bookmark your site.Best Regards!. Noticed your site on delicious right now and genuinely enjoyed it. .

  18. This is certainly a topic thats near to me so Im happy that you wrote about it. Im also happy that you did the subject some justice. Not only are you aware a great deal about it, you are aware how to present in a manner that people will want to read more. Im so pleased to know someone like you exists on the internet.

  19. Wow, what a blog! I mean, you’ve just got a lot guts to go ahead and tell it like it is. Youre what blogging needs, an open minded superhero who isnt afraid to tell it like it is. This is definitely something people need to be up on. Good luck in the future, man.

  20. What would we all do devoid of the wonderful strategies you talk about on this site? Who has the persistence to deal with vital topics in the interests of common subscribers like me? I actually and my buddies are very fortunate to have your web blog among the ones we usually visit. We hope you know how much we take pleasure in your hard work! Best wishes through us all.

  21. Hi there, You’ve done a fantastic jobI will definitely digg it and in my view suggest to my friendsI’m confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  22. Hello! this blog entry was very usefull for me. But it was difficult to find it with ask. Maybe you should improve it with wordpress addons for wordpress like headspace. (=

  23. Hi buddy, your blog’s design is simple and clean and i like it. Your blog posts are superb. Please keep them coming. Greets!!!

  24. I just book marked your blog on Digg and StumbleUpon.I enjoy reading your commentaries.

  25. Great Post. I add this Post to my bookmarks.

  26. Great Post. I add this Post to my bookmarks.

  27. This is a really great blog. Thx to the auther

  28. Thank You For This Post, was added to my bookmarks.

  29. I really liked reading your post!. Quallity content. With such a valuable blog i believe you deserve to be ranking even higher in the search engines 🙂

  30. i’d love to share this posting with the readers on my site. thanks for sharing!

  31. Hello there. I simply want to observe that what you say here is really nice post so I m going to post https://myautisticmuslimchild.wordpress.com/2010/08/22/united-states-of-autism on my Twitter profile so everybody can have the freedom to enjoy. I was glad when I saw this tittle, ‘United States of Autism’ My Autistic Muslim Child, in my google search, and i was so becouse at last I found what I was looking for. My regrds

  32. I’m not the sort of person that normally reads blogs, but I was bored and discovered my method to your web site. You appear like a quite exciting individual and I’m glad to have identified your nook of the world wide web.

  33. This is a really great blog. Thx to the auther

  34. I’d come to allow with you here. Which is not something I typically do! I love reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to speak my mind!

  35. Outstanding, good explanation, nice and simple! Cheers….

  36. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to send you an email. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

