Posted by: myautisticmuslimchild | January 28, 2011

Update on Amin

Just wanted to give you all a quick update on my son.

After he stopped breathing, he was diagnosed with the flu. He was very sick for over a week. During his sickness he was not able to sleep , and after he got better he still couldn’t sleep.

He became obsessively needy and clingy. I had to hold his hand, and take him everywhere with me. Not being able to sleep made him do “crazy” things. After several days of trying to help him to sleep, the doctor wanted to give him a very strong drug to put him to sleep, and calm him down. I rejected that drug, and asked for alternative.

We decided to give Melatonin, starting with a low dose. I firmly believed that one good night sleep will help him to resume his sweet disposition. I went to VITA SHOP and got him a special tea that has calming effect, and I got liquid Melatonin. I was prepared to give him Melatonin only for two  days, maximum 3 days.

After 12 days of not sleeping and just pacing back and forth, the first night he slept 2 hrs,and  that was a big deal for all of us after a  day and night screaming. The second night he got 3 1/2 hrs sleep.  The third night he had a beautiful 9 hrs of sleep. After that night he became little Amin we all missed and wanted back, who is  loving life. All praise to God for healing my little boy. His sleeping pattern still not back to normal, he wakes up in the middle of the night, but I am able to put him back to bed, and make him sleep.

As of now, he is completely healed from his illness, except we still do not have any answer why he stops breathing. That still remains a mystery, and the doctor  told me that so far we were lucky catching it on time , therefore CPR helped him to come back. I firmly believe GOD has a plan for him, and all of us, and I pray that God will give me more time with him in a much happier circumstance.

This  event  helped me to realize when there is issues I do not need to jump, and get the strongest medicine. I honestly never been a big supporter of natural medicine, but I am slowly but surely acknowledging the power of herbs. My little boy has enough poison in his system, I do not need to introduce him to  anymore. From now on, I will see what alternatives I have with his condition, and not just blindly accept  any drugs to take care of him. The psychotropic drug they wanted to give him had not been this successful this quickly.  I know with this comment I will be opening a can of worms, but I do believe I choose the right approach with him, and his doctor  certainly approve it and supported my decision. This is very important for  the care of my child, that me and his doctor are on a same page, since we want the best for my little boy.

What saddens me is that his pediatrician told me that they always have to offer regular medicine, and unless the parent  request alternative approach, they need to insist on traditional medicine. She, as well believed that he would be better off  trying natural medicine first.

I worked in the medical field for years, and I was a firm supporter of modern medicine, and to a degree I am  still a believer. I never taught  that I would  put  herbs before modern medicine. My views had changed, and I am glad that I became more open-minded.

Responses

  1. Good to hear it is going better now. Please take the rest you need for yourself and your family!

    There is so much we do not know about our own body’s so it is not strange that natural medicine’s can do a lot. Even if the working is not proved in the ‘normal / regular’ ways.

    I’m pretty sure there is still a lot hidden to our knowledge. Only we humans tend to believe we know everything 😉 And yes this humbles us when we see it.

    It must have been a frightening experience to see your son not breathing…

    Best to you all!

    • Thank you for your comment, i was going to contact you to let you know God willing I will try to start the project soon.

  2. Alhamdullilah I consider myself to have been blessed that I was raised in a family where my mum and grandmother knew of a lot of herbal remedies. Of course pharmaceutical medicines have their place too and we need to take them for some things, but we never need to rely on the pharmacy for things like cold remedies, digestion aids and a good massage oil (I use a mix of olive oil and black seed oil- black seed is also recommended for its healing properties in the sunnah) works wonders for a number of aches and pains. There are so many healing foods too. I always have chicken soup when I have a cold and its one of those things that tastes nice enough that we like chicken soup whether anyone has a cold or not 😉

    As well as the antibiotics I take to treat the Lyme Disease and Bartonella, I also take something called ‘allicinmax’ which is an allicin capsule. Allicin is the component of garlic which has lots of healing properties; it is a natural antibiotic (without carrying the risk of resistant strains that can occur with conventional antibiotics), antiparasitic, anti viral agent and anti candida. It is quite strong (in terms of herxheimer reactions) so I normally can’t manage to take more than one capsule a day but it is quite helpful. One of my online friends took it for over a year and it improved her mobility, stamina, health and unexpectedly also balanced her mood and mental health (she was suffering from bipolar disorder) to the extent that she no longer needs mood stabilising medication. All due to a remedy she can get naturally over the counter without a prescription:D

    I know there are many great medicinal herbs and foods out there (I know the sunnah mainly mentions black seed and honey as well as others), but I’m particularly fascinated by the wonderful properties of garlic and also a herb commonly used in India and Pakistan called neem. Neem is also a natural antibiotic and antiviral agent so I take it in capsule form regularly. I will admit though, neem tastes horrible lol but inshallah if it has health benefits it will be worth taking. Alhamdullilah it is also very cheap and readily available, it grows all over the place on normal roads and streets as commonly as weeds or nettles in the UK. So the poorest people in those countries who can’t afford conventional medicines often know about resorting to these things out of necessity. I’m sure that’s why my grandmother initially learned about these things.

    Neelu

    • wow thanks for the input, i will try some of those with Amin and myself as well.

  3. I’m glad it was useful to me. Thanks for your work. Ill be in touch

  4. Dear, thank you for helping me with this post

  5. Salam. I just happened to come across your site and think it’s really wonderful that you’re sharing your experiences. May Allah bless you and your child, and may be your ticket to jennah insha Allah.

    As for the doctors, I have a doctor who is an MD, but he is utilizes integrative medicine…which means he uses a combination of traditional and holistic medicine as seen fit for his patients. Often times, he doesn’t push traditional medicine at ALL on us, and tries multiple natural remedies, therapies, etc, first before resorting to traditional (and in many cases, stronger) medicines. He also believes in finding the source of the true problem rather than just prescribing medicine for the symptom. It took me a long time to find a doctor like him, but they’re out there! Glad you and your pediatrician are on the same page. My son has some ADHD/hyperactivity issues, so this was important to me…to not resort to medicine (with serious side effects) as my first option.

    Also wanted to say that I JUST the other day started a googlegroup for Muslim Mothers…. specialmuslimchildren.

    Group home page: http://groups.google.com/group/specialmuslimchildren

    To try to fill the void in our community with regards to support, education, and understanding, for children with various special needs from ADHD, to developmental delays, to autism, to learning disabilities, etc. It’s in the infancy stages but I think it’s lacking (and much needed) in our community. I hope you will join and share your wisdom with some of the other struggling moms.

    Keep up the great work!
    Salam

    • asalaam aleikum, thank you for your comment. I think it is wonderful that you started a Google group. With your permission i will post this on the blog. if you want to write a statement about it, why you started it and what you hoping to do with it i will post that with your link, and inshaallah this group will help to bring the mothers together where they can share experiences and ideas. may Allah bless you for all that you do to help others….ameen

      • Salam! Thanks that would be great! Basically the way it came about was that I had a discussion with a friend not too long ago about special needs issues in the Muslim Community, and how parents often times don’t have any support within the community or even know other parents going through similar situations. I think before the community itself can really be proactive in discussing and addressing these needs, parents need to feel some level of comfort and support with others who can relate, particularly to the toll it can take one one’s faith. There are numerous google/yahoo groups out there, along with support groups, but virtually none by/for Muslims. So…I thought I’d try (in my own small little way) to fill the need by starting one.

        Here are the essentials:

        * Group name: SpecialMuslimChildren
        * Group home page: http://groups.google.com/group/specialmuslimchildren
        * Group email address specialmuslimchildren@googlegroups.com

        This group was created for Muslim parents (for now just muslim mothers) with children of special needs eg. developmental delay, hyperactivity, sensory integration dysfunction, autism, any kind of learning disorders, ADD, ADHD or any disability really. This group is also open to anyone who may suspect their child may have special needs and are looking for information, comfort and support throughout their learning process.

        The objective is to share information about the special need including parenting, the emotional difficulties involved, treatment, education and maintaining faith throughout their hardships, with the hope of better understanding their children and consequently, being better able to help them.

        This is a closed discussion group, only open to those who are searching for suitable solutions for their special child’s requirements. Members agree to a disclaimer to maintain the privacy of other members by not sharing any personal information to others (including husbands), as people often times ‘vent’ or share very personal information in a support group setup.
        ________________________

        Anyway thank you again for your wonderful blog. I’ve subscribed and look forward to reading future entries from you.

        Salam


Leave a Reply

Categories

