Posted by: myautisticmuslimchild | March 24, 2011

Juicing for Autistic Kids (Part 2)

As we all know, we are exposed to so many toxins in our life time. https://myautisticmuslimchild.wordpress.com/2010/10/28/everyday-chemicals-may-be-harming-kids-panel-told/

Our babies are already exposed to many chemicals before they are even born.

Just imagine that as we are growing up how many more toxins we ingest and breath in. We try to raise healthy children, so we introduce them to different fruits and vegetables. Most of those are sprayed with many pesticides. Now, we have an option to get from an organic source that would reduce the chance to get more poison into our kids.

The other source of ingesting contaminated foods is meat and dairy.  Animals eat their food that might have been exposed to pesticides, or other man made toxins, therefore it is a good chance that consuming this meat, or dairy products, might expose a child to more poison.

Our body is amazing, it is constantly detoxifying itself, as long as we have essential fatty acids, amino acids, minerals, zinc, magnesium, and selenium to name a few, present in our bodies. Sadly many autistic children lack some, or all, of the needed components to help the body repel the toxins that they are exposed to.

Consequently these toxins will be stored in the body which is already overworked with so many other issues. Another strike against these children is that most of these toxins bind to fat (brain and nervous system is very high in fat), therefore all the toxins that are not being expelled from the body are being stored in places that are high in fatty tissues, like the brain.

Environmental factors can not be solely blamed for our children’s developmental problems though.

As a mother of an autistic boy, I knew there had to be a connection between his digestive system’s health and developmental issues. That is why I put so much emphasis on his healthy diet, giving him probiotics every day, and trying to eliminate all the food that he is allergic to from his diet. Once I accomplished that, I saw some significant gains, but not enough to satisfy my wants for him, and his needs as well.  As I further researched the supplemental issues that autistic kids need I realized that Amin , although he eats good and healthy foods, he is still lacking in many minerals and vitamins that can help his system to detoxify him.

I tried so many different ways to introduce him to many vegetables and fruits, but at the end I failed to supply him with adequate amount of vitamins and minerals. I started getting supplements for him, but I felt it was not enough. I did hide fruits and vegetables in different foods, cooked them together, but later I learned some of these foods lose a significant amount of goodness from cooking. This is when I started juicing fruits and vegetables for him, so I can help him to repel some of the toxins he is storing in his little body.

I needed to research what fruits and vegetables to juice, and I compiled a list and their components as well as their benefits. Part 3 will contain most of the vegetables and fruits that I use for juicing, also how I wash these food to keep them safe and healthy for my kids. Also, there will be some tips what to do with the pulp that remains after the juicing which can be quite healthy to eat as well. I ask all who read this post to please contribute your version of juicing and your lists of fruits and vegetables, and their benefits, so we can help each other out to help our kids to get better. All credit will go to you if you contribute.

Till then happy juicing!!!

Responses

  1. I just book marked your blog on Digg and StumbleUpon.I enjoy reading your commentaries.

  2. I just book marked your blog on Digg and StumbleUpon.I enjoy reading your commentaries.

  3. I find myself coming to your blog more and more often to the point where my visits are almost daily now!

    • Well, this is a very nice complement. Hope to see you here often, and hear your comments as well. WELCOME TO MY BLOG!!!

  4. Thank You For This Blog, was added to my bookmarks.

  5. I just book marked your blog on Digg and StumbleUpon.I enjoy reading your commentaries.


Leave a Reply

Categories

