Posted by: myautisticmuslimchild | October 18, 2011

Time 4 Learning for ASD Kids

Ever since Amin learned to use, and manipulate the computer mouse, he wants to be on the computer a lot. We found him several different programs to use, but eventually he gets bored with it. Those were the times when we took some time off, and did other things on the computer, but I wanted him to have a program to use where I can monitor him, his learning, advancement,  and to see where his skills are.

My daughter had used the program Called Time 4 learning for 3 years now. She always loved it, because of all the animations. Amin  wanted to watch her many times when she was on her program as well.

Time 4 learning  allowed me to try out the preK 1 and 2 program with him. I wanted to see where are his basic skills stand, what needs to be worked on, and what we have to maintain only. The administration of this program was very helpful, and they gave me a limited free access to the program to see if he would even like it.

The first day after school and therapy we went home, he had his yard time and dinner, I set his program up for him. I figured he may do one or two lessons, since he had a long day and he was tired. After 16 lessons being mastered and 1 1/2 hrs later, I had to forcefully remove him from the computer. He loved the program very much. The animations, the colors, talking stories games kept his imagination and attention very engaged.

I was still skeptical, and I was thinking he might be so engaged, because he knew all those tasks that was asked of him. I figured next day, or a day after will be a breaking point to see where we stand with this program. I had 1 week to try it out, so I was not in any hurry to make any positive or negative determination.

Well the truth here is next day as soon as he came home he asked for “I want Time 4 Learning please.” That was a bit of a shock for me, but I set it up for him, and he enjoyed completing 6 more lessons. The only reason we stopped after 6 lessons is, because we had to leave the house.

Since that day we work on different lessons every day except the weekends.  He is asking for it with his limited vocabulary, and enjoys it very much.

Now we are using some of the lessons that are new to him and requires him to think and learn, and yes he is still loves it.  Amin is a visual learner, he feels very comfortable learning this way, and it is much easier for him to understand different concepts as well. He can spend quality time learning about a variety of skills, developing comprehension as well. Different tools and sub-lessons keep him engaged, and the playground option is really a great bonus.

For me, it is really a great program for several reasons. I can print out a lesson plan, and track his learning by printing out reports daily weekly or monthly. Watching him doing his work allows me to see his advancements, and weaknesses. I  am able to follow an easy, yet effective lesson plan for him that has a great flexibility, and I can alter the teaching to his level as well.

The administration for this site is very helpful, and they listen to a parent and their concerns, and gives you helpful hints how to do things. Also, this site has a parent forum where you can exchange ideas, method of teaching with other parents, or just simply  post a question, and  it is guaranteed to get a very valuable answer from someone.

Although it is a very short time that we used this program I can not see anything wrong with Time 4 Learning. I feel my son is greatly benefiting  from it. The program is very affordable, and I can choose to pay in one sum or monthly payment.

We have an ongoing support system via the administration, and if I should have any issues with the lessons, or if I need technical support, someone is always on the phone to help me out. For me this is really great. I was assured that his lesson plan can be upgraded at any time, once he reaches the end of his lessons. ( They have lessons from preschool trough 8th grade). If I want him to practice certain skills, we can always go back to those lessons without any hassle to keep his skills up and running.

Amin is still going to his great school, but this program is  a great addition to his  academic life.

I really recommend it to anyone who is interested either homeschooling their child, or just looking for a summer or after school program.

The knowledge and friendliness of the staff is very reassuring, and I am very happy that I made the decision of signing him up for this program.

If you are interested to see this program just click on the following link;  http://www.time4learning.com/

Disclosure: “As a member of Time4Learning, I have been asked to review their online education program and share my experiences. While I was compensated, this review was not written or edited by Time4Learning and my opinion is entirely my own. Write your own curriculum review or learn how to use their curriculum for homeschool, after school study or summer learning.”

 

Responses

  1. I loved reading your review! My kids have been using Time4Learning for several years now, but I appreciate reading an unbiased review from someone new to the program. I’ve had an excellent experience with their admin too – very helpful folks and very easy to deal with. Thanks so much for sharing!

    • I agree with you Jennifer in all points. I love this program, and has so much to offer for our kids, for reasonable pricing, as well as great administration support.


Leave a Reply

Categories

