Posted by: myautisticmuslimchild | August 26, 2012

Content Wrapper

I have this never-ending search  for the best possible way to help my son to learn. I read about different methods, and try out the ones that I think he will be more receptive.

As many ASD kids my son is a visual learner. I always have to keep it in mind that he understands and absorbs more information with a visual approach.

I came across Content wrapper/ Game wrapper website.

This website actually allows you to make your own slide show regards to what  you want to teach the child. Once you made a short slide show and develop a quiz at the end to see how much information your child retained, the slide show is converted into a video game. The child can log on and start playing the video game which helps them with hand and eye-coordination, critical thinking and oh yes they will have FUN.

During the game  it will be short pauses where the information they need to learn appear, so they can read it. If the child can not read yet,the parent can be next to them and read the information, point out the relevance about pictures. The best thing about this is, that the pause can be as short as you want it, the child has to click off the box when they are done reading.  Once they got all their information, the game ends and they can take the quiz. The game can be played over and over again, and they can even share it with their friends.

It is certainly a  nontraditional way to teach children but it works. This program was not made for any specific group of children.

I made two sets of video games, one for my ASD son and one for my typical daughter. Different grade, different learning techniques, different subjects, but I got the same result;  they absolutely loved it, and retained the information they had to learn.

My son struggled with the concept of “living and non living”.  Once I made the slide show and converted into a game he was having so much fun playing it, and in no time he got the general concept of living and non living, and finally we were making progress in this regards.

I created a history game for my daughter, and she could not get enough of it. I enjoyed making the slide show, video game, as well as creating the questions at the end.It takes a very short amount of time. Once the person have an idea what the learning needs to be about and gather the necessary information it is very easy to navigate and finish everything in a short amount of time. 

I am not really technologically advanced by any means, so if I can do it you can too.

Here is the link to the website, read about it and see if it will fit your child’s interest. https://www.contentwrapper.com/


Responses

  1. Salaam alykum sister

    What is your address in florida

    My sister inlaw wanted to give you a visit while in Florida for a vacation. My nephew who autistic is with her as well.

    Jazakallah khiar Ali

    Sent from my iPhone

    • ws i would of loved to see her and her son, but I relocated 8 months ago. If she needs to be in contact she can send me an email aminsawakening@gmail.com I be more than happy to talk to her. thank you


Leave a Reply

Categories

