Posted by: myautisticmuslimchild | November 2, 2012

“Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.” MLK

Day 2 of the NHBPM, and I chose to use the above quote from Martin Luther King.

“Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.”

When I started this blog I had a vision, a purpose a goal. I could not stand seeing how many families are hiding their autistic kids from a public eye, from their families and friends, out of shame and fear of the social pressure. It was disheartening to see how much these kids had suffered, and being deprived of basic needs while their parents cowardly hide behind their sorry excuses, or some suffer silently knowing the oppression they had done to an innocent vulnerable child.

I felt that it is my responsibility to speak out, make awareness amongst Muslim families and the community, to shed light about the struggle of these kids and their families. I felt exactly what Martin Luther king said, and knew my life will not be full or anything, unless I give voice to the silent. In this case ASD kids in our community. Give voice and courage to families, so they may do the right thing, and help their children regardless what scrutiny they have to endure from others.

This quote is very powerful, and on the merciless side if you ask me, does not accept any excuses. So we must take its message to the new  level, and follow it with our best intention. It inspired me to follow a human approach to this matter, and ignore thoughtless people, who are unable to think out of the box. As a mother of an ASD child, and an advocate, I feel it is my responsibility to spread the word about autism,inform people who are not aware of the nature of this condition, educate people who are very well aware of all the problems, but like to ignore it on an account of an innocent child.

“Silence is gold” , we heard this saying many times, but in this case silence can be hurtful, it is causing negligence, and it can even be deadly. Every human life is valuable and can offer something to the community, regardless race, gender, education, or even disability. We all created to contribute something to make a difference, to aid the weak, be an anchor for those who are needing a more stable life, to speak up for those who can not speak for themselves.

Life is about challenges, reaching out to the needy,offering helping hands, and speak out to promote good and forbid evil. The things that matter requires one’s voice, so please speak up, and ask others to join in to make a difference in your life and in theirs.

Responses

  1. Great post (AND a great quote). Glad to find you through #NHBPM.

  2. Thanks for giving me the support I needed. I’m glad I’m not alone and perhaps, I too, can help others.


Leave a Reply

Categories

