Posted by: myautisticmuslimchild | November 23, 2012

I am Thankful for… Day 22 NHBPM

Day # 22 NHBPM. The things I am thankful for.

There are many things to be thankful for, but sometimes we concentrate on troubles rather blessings.

Despite the crazy journey we had in a past 8 + years we had some amazing encounters with some truly amazing people, and we had some awesome, positive changes in our household.

Amin’s ASD showed us who are truly being there for us. As they say,” it is easy to be around while the sun is shinning, but the ones that are there for you during the storm are the one they truly love you.”

Once the family’s shock was over, we got closer to one another to help Amin recover, or get better. Having closeness with family members is priceless.

So we had our heart breaks losing people from our lives, but once we realized what it really means we were thankful to see those person’s true colors. This allowed us to meet new people , and develop friendship that based on mutual understanding and respect. That I am very thankful for,, a handful of true friends are better than an army of  “plastic” people.

Also, I am thankful for all the progress Amin made. I was told that he will acquire some simple tasks, but will never tackle anything major. Well the doctor was wrong, and my intuition was right.

I am grateful for all the teachers and therapist that worked with Amin and believed in him, pushed him hard to achieve much more academically, and to be independent.

I am thankful for my daughter who is simply amazing with her ASD brother. Knowing all the hardship she encountered, she still loves that little boy with all of her heart, and protect him from everything that might harm him.

I learned so much about life since my son was diagnosed with autism, and I am grateful for every little part and every person it. I learned to appreciate things that did not matter to me too much before.

I become more aware of what really matters, and don’t sweat the small stuff, I am more content and happier too.

Believing in God carried me far, and that is the most important thing that I am grateful for.

Without our creator, I could never overcome all those obstacles, so I am thankful for God to helped me develop a strong unconditional faith.


Responses

  1. Thankyou for all your comments. I have found them really inspiring, alhamdullilah,pls keep in touch as I have a child on the spectrum.


Leave a comment

Categories